Scholarships & Awards

Scholarships & Awards

Annual Physics Awards

Robert Edward Loving Award in Physics

Established in 1954 by the University of Richmond Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma, this award is given each year to a senior based on general academic achievement and promise for advanced study in physics.

Jackson J. Taylor Best Senior Seminar in Physics Award

Established by the Taylor and Hesch children in 1989 to honor Jackson Johnson Taylor, Professor of Physics from 1948–1986, this award recognizes the student judged by the faculty of the Department of Physics to have presented the best senior seminar.

Cornelius Beausang Memorial Award

Established in 2019 to honor Con Beausang, a dedicated teacher and prolific researcher who served as a mentor to many UR students, this award is given each year to a sophomore or junior physics major for achievement in physics or contributions to the physics community.

Cole Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a first-, second-, or third-year science major based on their academic performance and financial need.

The Clarence Denoon Award

Money toward tuition awarded to a rising senior for excellence in the natural sciences, as determined by the faculty of the science departments.


Anna Shelton

Physics Anna Shelton Awarded and Heads to Harvard

Anna Shelton, Spring 2022 graduate, received the Department of Physics Robert Edward Loving Award and the Westhampton College Diamond Award. In Fall 2022, she began attending the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences to pursue her Ph.D. in applied physics. She works with Marko Loncar and the Loncar research group to engineer lithium niobate devices for applications in frequency combs, optical computing, and quantum computing.

Molly Kate Kreider

Molly Kate Kreider Receives Multiple Awards

Molly Kate Kreider, 2022 graduating senior, was awarded a Goldwater Scholarship, the preeminent undergraduate award in science and math. She is researching optical physics, a branch of physics that studies the behavior and properties of light. She is also one of three A&S students to receive a David C. Evans Award for Outstanding Achievement in Scholarship and the Creative Arts at the School of Arts & Sciences Honors Convocation and an award for the A&S Student Symposium Paper Competition. Molly Kate also received the Department of Physics 2022 Jackson J. Taylor Award.